Visual Guide – Using ‘Add a Leaf’ to share a file

The “Add a Leaf” button on the top toolbar allows you to publish content in your Google Drive or Device to SharingTree. Start by clicking the ‘Add a Leaf button and then follow the steps below. Publishing should only take a few minutes and be sure you have the right to publish the content.

Once you click ‘Add a Leaf’ you will search your Google Drive to locate the file to share.

Add a Leaf screen, Red indicates a required field

One important choice is the type of COPYRIGHT to apply to your document. See our copyright guide to help you decide. Copyrighted content can always be converted to Collaborative or Creative Commons later. You can also revise most information later by going to Leaves -> Published. The exception is you can not change Creative Commons or Collaborative content you publish to Copyrighted later. The last page you will see for ‘Add a Leaf’ is below.

View your added Leaf and Sharing on Social Media

This page lets you click the link to view your published leaf. You can also change any information or add a custom image using Leaves -> Published or selecting Manage leaf.

Thanks for learning how to use ‘Add a Leaf‘ to share content with the world directly from G Suite. Please let us know if you have any ideas to improve collaborating from G Suite using contact@sharingtree.net.

Publishing Content: COPYRIGHTED, COLLABORATIVE or CREATIVE COMMONS?

The table above summarizes the publishing options for content (Leaves) using SharingTree. The content you publish must be your original work, or you must have all required publishing and trademark rights to the content. SharingTree offers three license types when publishing content using ‘Add a Leaf‘. They are COPYRIGHTED, COLLABORATIVE or CREATIVE COMMONS as shown below.

The default option is COPYRIGHTED. Selecting COPYRIGHTED retains all your rights as the content creator. COPYRIGHTED content can be FREE ($0) or any price you select and it can only be used by others for personal use with no redistribution rights. Collaborations on COPYRIGHTED content is not possible. An author can change COPYRIGHTED published content to COLLABORATIVE or one of the CREATIVE COMMONS licenses at any time.

The second option is COLLABORATIVE. The COLLABORATIVE option is only available if you set the price to $0 (FREE). You also will see the following POP-UP warning you that you are choosing to make this content available for others to remix and share only on SharingTree (limited redistribution license). Collaborative content can be be changed to a Creative Commons license at any time or deleted. For more on Creative Commons licenses see this help article.

Collaborative License Pop-up warning

Content that is designated as COLLABORATIVE can be part of a COLLABORATION where other users are able to remix and upload a modified version for others to use on SharingTree. No other redistribution of remixed content is allowed by this license, unlike all Creative Commons licenses which allow unlimited redistribution. For the full details on the COLLABORATIVE license see https://sharingtree.link/CollaborativeLicense. This license is very similar to the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) but with remixed or “Collab” distribution limited to SharingTree.

You can easily identify remixed content (leaves) by the yellow Collab Banner in upper left of a leaf’s preview image.

Collab vs Leaf Content

The quick recap is select COPYRIGHTED is you are unsure or want to charge $ for your content. You can always change COPYRIGHTS content to any other license type later. Only select COLLABORATIVE or a CREATIVE COMMONS License if you want to allow others to remix and collaborate on your work through SharingTree using the “Add a Collab” feature.

For more information on collaborations see the article “What is a Collab?“.

Up ↑